This website uses cookies

Welcome! This website uses cookies to give the best, most relevant experience. By using our website you consent to all cookies, and agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use / EULA. The website is intended for adults 18 years of age or older or who are of the age of majority in their jurisdiction of residence. By accessing the website, you represent that you are 18 years of age or older.

The Miniature Wife and Other Stories

Author:
Binding: Paperback
List Price: $16.00
Our Price: $1.50 USD
Qty Avail: 0


ISBN: 9781594632273
Publisher: Riverhead Books
Language: English
Page Count: 304
Publication Date: 2/4/2014
Size: 8.27" l x 5.43" w x 0.91"
Series: N/A

Category Subject
Fiction Short Stories
In the tradition of George Saunders and Aimee Bender, an exuberantly imagined debut that chronicles an ordinary world marked by unusual phenomena.

The eighteen stories of Manuel Gonzales's exhilarating first book render the fantastic commonplace and the ordinary extraordinary, in prose that thrums with energy and shimmers with beauty. In "The Artist's Voice" we meet one of the world's foremost composers, a man who speaks through his ears. A hijacked plane circles a city for twenty years in "Pilot, Copilot, Writer." Sound can kill in "The Sounds of Early Morning." And, in the title story, a man is at war with the wife he accidentally shrank. For these characters, the phenomenal isn't necessarily special--but it's often dangerous.

In slightly fantastical settings, Gonzales illustrates very real guilt over small and large marital missteps, the intense desire for the reinvention of self, and the powerful urges we feel to defend and provide for the people we love. With wit and insight, these stories subvert our expectations and challenge us to look at our surroundings with fresh eyes. Brilliantly conceived, strikingly original, and told with the narrative instinct of a born storyteller, The Miniature Wife is an unforgettable debut.

You May Also Like