This website uses cookies

Welcome! This website uses cookies to give the best, most relevant experience. By using our website you consent to all cookies, and agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use / EULA. The website is intended for adults 18 years of age or older or who are of the age of majority in their jurisdiction of residence. By accessing the website, you represent that you are 18 years of age or older.

What's The Big Deal About First Ladies

Author:

Binding: Hardcover
List Price: $13.99
Our Price: $1.62 USD
Qty Avail: 206


ISBN: 9780593114865
Publisher: Philomel Books
Language: English
Page Count: 56
Publication Date: 2/11/2020
Size: 8.00" l x 6.00" w x 0.50"
Series: N/A

In this chapter book filled with fun facts and historical trivia about first ladies from Martha Washington to Melania Trump, civic-minded young readers learn just how important it is to "Remember the ladies!" and all they have done for America.
Did you know that Mary Todd Lincoln hated slavery and helped to end it in America? Or that Edith Wilson helped decode secret messages during World War I? How about that Sarah Polk didn't let anyone dance in the White House while she was first lady?

It's true! In addition to being hostesses, advocates, ambassadors, activists, patriots, and role models, each first lady put her own stamp on the White House--and on our country. In this fun-filled, fact-filled book, you can find out just what made each first lady unique and why they were so important. As it turns out, first ladies are a pretty big deal after all! 

Perfect for fans of Rad American Women from A-Z, this book is a great entry point to discussing all aspects of the White House with children.

You May Also Like