The Ghost Shift

Author:
Binding: Hardcover
List Price: $26.00
Our Price: $2.25 USD
Qty Avail: 40


ISBN: 9780345527929
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Language: English
Page Count: 320
Size: 9.31" l x 6.38" w x 1.06"
Series: N/A

In the tradition of Gorky Park, John Gapper's new thriller takes readers inside the secretive and dangerous world of modern China, as a young woman makes a haunting discovery--one that forces her to choose between duty to her government and a desperate desire to learn the truth about herself.
 
This wasn't just a body in a field. The corpse's shape was hers--same length, same curves. Then she knew, and everything else receded to nothingness. All she could see was a woman with the same nose, the same eyes, and the same face.
 
Her twin.
 
As an up-and-coming agent of the Commission for Discipline Inspection, Song Mei probes political corruption, not mysterious deaths. But that changes when she arrives on the scene of a grim police investigation and is confronted with a crime--and a victim--impossible to ignore. Despite strict orders and threats from superiors, Mei knows she can not turn away.
 
Breaking protocol, Mei undertakes a covert search for the truth about the mystery woman's death--and life--by following in her footsteps from a factory plagued by worker suicides to a luxury hotel dealing in high-end escorts to an American home haunted by tragedy. But when Mei crosses paths with an ex-CIA operative on a shadowy mission of his own, her personal quest takes a jarring turn into political and industrial espionage that pits both agents against the highest ranks of communism and capitalism.
 
Praise for John Gapper's A Fatal Debt
 
"Rarely does one read a first novel so self-assured, sharp, and compelling. It takes off like a rocket and doesn't stop until its explosive conclusion."--Joseph Finder, author of Suspicion
 
"An enlightening and grisly tale . . . tightly plotted and fast-paced."--The New Yorker
 
"An ingenious thriller about the ruthless world of high finance."--The Washington Post
 
"A fast-paced book that should entertain finance aficionados and fans of detective fiction alike."--Fortune
 
"A neatly crafted and well-written thriller . . . an audacious, assured debut."--David Ignatius, author of Bloodmoney
 
"[Gapper] knows when to put his foot on the narrative accelerator."--Financial Times
 
"Intriguing . . . suspenseful . . . a web of deceit and betrayal."--Booklist

You May Also Like